Who We Are

The North Northamptonshire Joint Planning Unit (JPU) was formally established in October 2004 by Corby, Kettering, Wellingborough and East Northamptonshire Councils, together with Northamptonshire County Council. The JPU is funded through contributions from the local planning authorities, and co-ordinates the preparation of the North Northamptonshire Local Plan.

The Joint Planning Committee was established in July 2005 as the formal decision making body for the JPU, and was the first such committee established under new planning legislation. It is made up of 3 elected members from each council and is responsible for agreeing the Joint Core Spatial Strategy and other joint planning policy work, but has no development control powers, which remain with the individual district/borough councils.

The Joint Core Spatial Strategy (“the Plan”) was adopted in June 2008 and shapes the places in which we live, work and play setting out the framework for long term change and development in North Northamptonshire, including housing, jobs, shopping and the environment. It also has policies to guide how change will be managed, such as; where development should be located, guidelines about its design and controls over the impacts of development sites on their surroundings and infrastructure that needs to be provided. The Plan is currently in the process ofbeing reviewed.

Based on the framework provided by the Plan, the individual Councils have and are working to prepare more detailed plans for parts of their areas, including site specific proposals, policies to control the form of development and area action plans for the town centres.

What We Do